The Deuce Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Brief thoughts on local and national issues

So is Obama-care going to pass? At this point I truly don’t think it matters either way. The Democrats created the perfect storm for Republicans. The majority of Americans don’t like the bill, the moderate democrats don’t like the bill, and the extreme left doesn’t like the bill. On top of that, they couldn’t get one Republican to support the Senate version of the bill so all of the blood in the end will be on their hands. And to put the icing on the cake good ole Nancy Pelosi is will to resort to unconstitutional measures to pass what is likely going to be found in court as an unconstitutional bill. If it does somehow pass all of that mess the states are beginning to reassert their states rights and are looking to reject and ignore many parts of this new legislation.

So to all the liberals and President Obama let me say thank you! You have awakened the conservatives in America and are about to feel the power of Democracy and the American Spirit in the November 2010. The amount of seats the Democrats will lose the elections in the local, state, and federal level with likely in the realm of historic proportions and the reason why is because you made the same mistakes as the Republican’s did in 2000’s but on a much greater scale. You have listened too much to those in Washington and to your party leadership rather than listening to the American people. If you think I am wrong then you haven’t been paying attention or you are delusional to the reasons why Scott Brown is the Senator from Massachusetts. I could go on all day about Obama-care but according to the polls I would be preaching to the choir so that’s my take on this mess for now. 

Getting to local politics for a moment I want to comment on the Republican Primary race for Hamilton County Commissioner. Chris Monzel and Leslie Ghiz are battling out for the nomination, and to be honest I am having a tough time deciding whom I will support. The both have strong qualities and leadership abilities and both would make great county leaders. But I want a candidate that can explain to me how we are going to bring jobs and residents back to the county. Quite frankly without a plan that does that it won’t matter who is elected county commissioner? So I would encourage both candidates to share with voters how they plan to do this. While I support the idea of tax cuts, we need a more concrete plan than that. The person with the best plan is the one we must support because the most pressing need in Hamilton County, more revenue without raising taxes.

Recently Councilman Bortz said he was proposing that anyone on council that is going to run for another office must resign within 10 days of making that announcement. While I understand the thought process on this I have to respectfully disagree. People should be afforded the opportunity to run for another public office if they so chose and it should be up to the voters to decide if this is an issue or not at the ballot box. This situation is a byproduct of term limits, which I am in favor of. You can’t blame a person for looking at the next opportunity when they are termed out.  As an alternative like to see rules and procedures in place by council that would limit the amount of time away they can campaign while council is in session and restrict candidates that are running for office from missing council meetings of any sort for a campaign function.

That is all I have for now, grad school is kicking my butt so I haven’t had as much time as I would like for politics but I foresee you will hear more of me this summer or follow me on twitter.  DarrylCordrey is the screen name…other than that enjoy the Easter Holiday

March 20, 2010 - Posted by | Cincinnati, Congress, government, Money, Ohio, Politics, President Obama, Tea Party | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment